Some people think that cars should be banned from city centers to reduce pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As pollution has harmed our environment, it is essential for people to find a way to measure this issue. Some people argue that one method to do it is by banning car usage from city centres. In some conditions, I agree with this statement and the reasons will be explained in this essay. To begin with, there are some reasons to ban cars from city centres. Firstly, private cars are known as the second cause of air pollution after the industrial sector. However, running the industrial sector is inevitable in order to serve human needs, while people can use public transport, including MRT, LRT, or bus, instead of private ones. Secondly, the manufacturing of private cars itself has contributed to pollution, since it spends an enormous amount of electricity that might be produced from coal. Hence, banning private car use in city centres will significantly reduce pollution. In addition to that, stopping cars should be followed by the improvement of public transportation facilities. It is essential for the governments to provide a better public transportation facility. For instance, upgrading and adding the bus or train units, or improving the security in each station will significantly attract the society to use them. By serving the citizens with better public transportation facilities, people will find it comfortable and secure to shift to this facility. To sum up, since private car use and production emits a large amount of pollutants, it is important to ban private car use and move to public transportation such as buses, LRT, or MRT. Nevertheless, it should be followed by the improvement of public transportation itself.