In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

It is a known fact that individuals have multiple employments in the current time period. In this essay I will be discussing the various factors responsible for this trend as well as the benefits and drawbacks for the same. The primary reason causing the upsurge of this situation is the rising inflation around the world. Events such as the 2008 economic crisis and global covid pandemic can be hold accountable for the escalation of inflation. Due to this the citizens were unable to cope up with increase in cost of goods and hence had to join multiple jobs. For instance, a news article showed an increase of inflation by up to 20% post pandemic. In addition to this, the newer generation lives a more materialistic lifestyle these days compared to the past, due to which they spend more on their wants than their actual needs. This has made more money-oriented, which could be a rationale behind one opting for multiple shifts presently. Now, talking about the benefits of this situation, performing numerous jobs provides a sense of financial security. People these days have several debts and daily expenses to pay and if one looses a job then they could be put in a distressing position. Therefore, having multiple occupation is essential. Additionally, another advantage would be an extra disposable income which can quench one’s materialistic wants. In contrast, the chief drawback that coexist with this development is the excessive mental and physical stress that people incorporate in their lives. Job burnout is the new normal currently due to chronic workplace stress. In conclusion, having manifold occupation does provide financial stability, but it does comes with it own set of challenges.