In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

City planners are willing to allocate separate parts to each facility, such as shops, schools, offices and homes. I personally believe that zoning has both positive and negative points but, the benefits outweigh the downsides. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks in separating different areas that are by no means negligible. First, zones that are located in schools and offices might be overcrowded during rush hours in the morning and in the afternoon. To put it differently, this would lead to increased traffic congestion in those areas. However, during nights and holidays, these places would be empty. For instance, this emptiness might be a suitable place for potential offenders and drug dealers to commit crimes. On the other hand, there are several benefits to zoning separately. To begin with, when the same activities are being built together, it would be an efficient land use in that area. In other words, this land use assures planners that each area has a special purpose. For example, homes are built in residential zones, which are near commercial and school zones; it leads to reduced traffic jams in the city. In addition, another benefit that might occur is when arranging to zone the areas, the city council is able to perform better community service throughout the town; due to the origination that exists in the city. In conclusion, although this planning has some demerits, I firmly take the view that the merits such as, reducing the amount of traffic and well-organized city services would outweigh the cons.