Some people say that increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While there is a widely held belief that the higher price of petrol cannot be considered a practical solution to solve the problems resulting from traffic congestion and air pollution, I hold the conviction that this procedure can play an influential role in diminishing the negative impacts of them. On the one hand, many people claim that humans are living in an era full of franticness and they must strive to use the time to their best advantage. Therefore, many individuals, especially white-collars, tend to drive to work instead of wasting their time queuing to catch public transport. These individuals believe that using private vehicles is the only thing that may relieve some of the burden of those who commute to their work. Accordingly, increasing the petrol price may bring about lower productivity and a higher amount of dissatisfaction. For instance, In South Korea, many workers use public transport to arrive at their work. Interestingly, nonetheless, several employees expressed a significant level of dissatisfaction as they regard using public transport as a waste of time. However, another group of people assert that increasing the petrol price prevents many individuals from using their personal automobiles. Indeed, these people must incur more money in relation to the time they use public transportation. Accordingly, they prefer to travel using buses, trains, and taxis as it is economically worthwhile. Governments, therefore, would become unintentionally successful in decreasing the traffic congestion and air pollution consecutively. In China, for instance, many citizens do not drive their private vehicles as they are aware of the ease and convenience that using public transport may bring for them and the higher expenses that driving their private cars may impose on them. In conclusion, after considering both viewpoints, I agree with the notion that increasing the price of petrol can play a helpful role for governments to take a step toward solving the traffic and air pollution issues.