It is better for people to be unemployed than being employed with a job they do not enjoy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that states it is better to remain jobless instead of working in an unpleasant job. This essay totally agrees with that statement because engaging in an undesired occupation could lead to several drawbacks for both workers and employers. To begin with, the trend of many individuals working in unpleasant occupations has been growing for a decade. Therefore, this phenomenon significantly affects workers ' mental health, especially in job sectors that require complex calculations, namely engineering and accounting. As a result, the number of employees suffering from psychological issues has been increasing since 2013. For instance, in Indonesia, the Ministry of Health stated that the number of people suffering from high stress levels reached more than 2 million in 2021. Moreover, this trend is not only detrimental to workers but also to companies. This is because employees identified as suffering from psychological issues tend to take more frequent days off instead of their psychologically-fit peers. As a result, companies will suffer from a lack of workforce to conduct their daily operations such as keeping their production lines running. Hence, this has a severe impact on their revenue because production is not running properly. For example, the revenue of several garment manufacturers in Indonesia has been declining since 2015 because most of their labor needs to see psychologists during weekdays. In conclusion, if workers engage in an undesired job instead of remaining unemployed, it might adversely affect not only themselves but also the corporations, as it will lead them to become stressed and unproductive.