Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the present age, whether dedicating the whole time for one particular discipline provide more benefits than learning about extra subjects has sparked much debate. Some people assert that studying only one area can make you more attractive specialist whereas many others argue that this can lead to narrow-mindedness. Personally, I deeply believe that our attention is limited, therefore, giving it to one subject that we are fond of is a wiser option. Firstly, studying other subjects in addition to the main discipline can be beneficial in terms of broadening students‘ common knowledge and preventing them from losing the sight of the big picture how all the different disciplines are connected together. For instance, German composer Felix Mendelson, mainly known for his operas and symphonies, including the one that we are used to hearing in weddings, was also painting, dancing, learning ancient languages and studying philosophy. Maybe this was his key to becoming so famous? As a result, getting involved in a range of fields is likely to greatly contribute to the deeper understanding of the main subject at university which can make you a high-flying professional in the future. On the other hand, an attempt to grasp more different areas at the same time may result in a superficial comprehension. Nowadays there is a tendency to delve into one specific part of the subject as people see it as the only way to pursue a successful career. For example, it is undeniable that the majority of doctors specializes in treating just limbs, heart or brain rather than the whole body with a view to providing patients with the most professional healthcare. Consequently, the likelihood that the one might make a mistake is significantly less. To sum up, learning extra subjects at university may lead to becoming more universal, as well as more successful professional. However, I am convinced that being absorbed in the main discipline will uncertainly help you to stand out from the crowd