Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the technology ear, there is a statement that using social media to update news as well as connecting with people around the globe is known as a daily ordinary activity. I personally believe this development offers significant advantages for both users and society than their cons. First and foremost, social media have become a major way for community to connect and stay informed. Social media as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Whatsapp allow users to share updates, pictures, videos and messages with their networks. This convenience supports community in keeping in touch with their loved ones despite of geographical issues, reconnecting with old friends or even building new relationships with people who share the same interests. Especially, in covid pandemic period 3 years ago, when lockdowns and social distancing measures were in place, social media became a lifeline for many families to stay in touch with isolated loved ones. Hence, staying connected is an incredible function which social media offers to humans. Moreover, to society, social media have become one of the major factors for developing countries. Platforms like Youtube, Twitters are often where breaking news stories first surface. public can also follow new outlets and journalists on social platforms to get their latest news update or their perspectives on current news. For instance, people with business occupations or investments, require a huge amount of plash information, especially related to the world economy, politics and market fluctuations, and with social media they are able to get that quickly. Otherwise, citizens thanks to minutes updating news on social media, are able to prepare sooner for some dangerous diseases upcoming or environment disasters. Therefore, staying informed is absolutely essential requirement for people on Earth. Nevertheless, excessive social media use can cause addiction and mental health problems. People nowadays tend to rely on using mobile phones or laptops to surf social media which leads to social media addiction and decreases work efficiency. Moreover, overusing technological devices is one of the main factors for physical and psychological issues, which are eye problems, easily get anxiety, and depression. For example, in Vietnam, the figure of young people get depression have reported to increase by 20% each year due to using mobile phones for TikTok, Facebook and other social media for more than 8 hours per day. As a result, social media usage with limitations could cause several problems to users, especially for mental health. In conclusion, despite the potential danger to users ' health, social media clearly contributes to society with connection ability and information transformation.