8.Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that have been scientifically proved to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, the free rule of economics guarantees retailers the ability to sell products that are proven to be detrimental to human well-being. Therefore, individuals claim that selling any perilous products such as cigarettes and alcohol should be prohibited at markets. It is my contention that in order to enhance the longevity of consumers it is utterly important to cease selling items that have a scientific rationale behind them. First and foremost, although some products are infamous for their toxic and hazardous ingredients, they are still being commercialized by markets and wholesalers. This is attributable to the exorbitant margin on these life-threatening substances. To cite an example, despite smoking being one of the worst additions which causes the demise of millions of people per annum, cigarettes have still been sold by markets. I think that by blocking cigarette sales with the help of the Government, the life expectancy of humans will significantly rise so will the people around them. Furthermore, scientists have now been warning people for a very long time about the long-term effects of consuming energy drinks on the human body. Since these products are pretty addictive, consumers are struggling to kick their habits out, thus, substantially undermining their health. These drinks contain excess amounts of sugar and caffeine which greatly increases the chance of cardiac arrests and heart attacks among consumers. If it was not enough, the legal age required for people to purchase these energy products is under 18 and it is on a downward trend. For example, selling juveniles such products should be treated as a crime as it destroys their future. Moreover, it should also be acknowledged that in some countries there is no legal age for alcohol consumption and kids are falling victim to the thirst traps by markets that offer discounts and lower prices in order to make them alcoholics. Bearing in mind the ramifications of drinking alcohol, Governments must elucidate a sheer example of resistance against this irresponsibility that goes against prevailing societal norms and can have serious health and development consequences. In conclusion, I totally agree that there is no justification for enabling people to consume jeopardous products like alcohol, energy drinks and cigarettes, thereby, every interested party ranging from Government agencies to Private entities should unify their powers to combat the commercialization of these products.