Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

In the last three decades, the number of private cars has risen considerably in city areas across the globe. In my opinion, It is completely true and governments should restrict car ownership by taxes and provide the convenience of public transportation means. One of the main reasons for the increasing number of private cars is the presentation middle-class people across the globe. In many countries, particularly developing countries, the number of middle-class citizens has significantly increased. This new class of people is associated with prosperity in which car ownership is one of their lifestyles. In Indonesia, for example, the government has been trying to provide convenient infrastructures such as bridges and highways to cater for the need for cars. In addition to this, there are many new automobile industries in the market to promote more affordable cars. It enables people to have private cars. It is challenging for the government to prevent people from owning cars. However, new regulations such as high taxes should be taken into consideration in order to restrict the massive number of private cars. Many advanced nations, such as the USA and Belgium, are compelling examples of how governments are successfully managing this problem. People then have to rethink when they want to buy a new car or desire to have more than one. However, it is important to note that this regulation was supported by improving public transportation such as trains and buses with excellent services. These kinds of regulations benefit people and should be implemented in other nations. In conclusion, despite the fact that the rising number of cars coincides with the increasing number of middle-class people, governments should pay attention to this problem with tax regulations and equip their cities with comfortable modes of public transportation.