People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their family and the society so working long hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree.

In the present day, individuals know that working continuously for a long period might negatively impact themselves. As a result, I totally agree with this argument that this action should be restricted in order to alleviate many forthcoming consequences which I will illustrate with some instances in the next paragraphs. To begin, the restriction of doing any task for long hours should be seriously implemented. I could not agree more with the issue mentioned as people should prioritise health and family relations as well. For example, my father has worked hard 10 hours a day,7 days a week for 2 weeks in a row; thus, he does not have quality time with family in that period. Additionally, he also has an illness problem due to a lack of adequate rest. As we realise, these habit leads to many adverse consequences occurring after that with unprecedented issues. On the contrary, in many workplaces nowadays, doing a job over a normal working period of time per day until completion is normalised for some organisations' cultures. To illustrate this,one of the strong reasons supporting my opinion against the argument is to not normalise the new working standard as longer times with the overload. Furthermore, some believe that working hard for the company might lead them to get a promotion at a higher level. However, this is not always true because getting a promotion should be considered from the job performance as well as being a productive person,which could struggle with troublesome issues. To summarize, I strongly agree that working overload should be controlled because of many negative consequences,namely health problems, and social relationship issues. However, I personally believe that effective work is not always measured by the number of hours,which may relate to other factors such as time and problem-management skills.