Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is less and less population in the countryside and more and more population in the cities because people in all corners of the country tend to migrate to big metropolises. Whether this phenomenon is positive or negative is questionable. I believe, however, that it could have a negative impact on people’s lives and this essay will extensively outline why this could be a negative occurrence. Migration from rural areas increases the population in urban areas. Population density in urban areas can lead to a scarcity of houses and create problems, such as rising rents. This causes people to prefer to not have a house or be homeless and live in public facilities, such as at the roadside or under bridges. Furthermore, increased population may pollute the area’s air as the use of private vehicles increases. These vehicles will emit harmful emissions and can affect the earth's atmosphere. for illustration, the pollution level of the city of Jakarta in Indonesia reached the worst level and one of the causes is the large number of vehicles that cannot be controlled. The movement of rural people to cities means that in the long run, there will be fewer local farmers in the countryside. This will have a full impact on the agricultural industry and could lead to food crises and famine. For example, production of fresh fruits and vegetables will decrease and prices will rise dramatically. In addition, the population in cities will increase significantly and this overpopulation will put more pressure on resources due to growing demand. In conclusion, it seems to me that this has a negative impact on individuals and society because it causes housing shortages and local labour shortages in the countryside resulting in a food crisis.