the best way to cut down crime rate is by building more prisons and giving longer sentences. do you agree or disagree? what other methods are there to control the crime rate?

It is thought by some that the most effective way to reduce crime in society is to construct more prisons and give criminals longer sentences. In the following paragraphs, advantages, disadvantages and my opinion about methods to reduce crimes will be outlined. To begin with, there are benefits of building more prisons. Police will have plenty of room more for put criminals in. People will easily notice that there are sufficient places for them if they do something bad. Furthermore, as shown on the news, there are a lot of fights between inmates which finally lead to death, bringing fear to the people outside. In addition, Longer sentences affect the bonding of families of inmates, as some inmates have families and as we know family is one of the most important things in our lives. It leads to the lack of chance to take care of their wife and children. Additionally, it brings disadvantage to the communities. Firstly, the construction of prisons leads to reduce a vast of valuable areas which can make a profit in that zone. For instance, department stores,which will attract tourist both outside and inside their countries, come with the money that can advance and develop that area. Secondly, Living in prisons longer does not affect their fear. The inmates in the jails are able to make friends and if that happens, it will bring downsides to the societies when they are out. Besides, they might contact each other again and commit some new crimes together. In my opinion, In the first place, we should bring our execution sentence back again. Many criminals rather choose life imprisonment than being executed as they fear dying more than others. Death sentences also make them think before committing. In the second place, we should penalties their families also, as they cannot control their family member such as fining or prison them. Consequently, when criminals are going to commit a crime, they need to think about the effects of their actions. All in all, I disagree with this issue, we need to increase the penalties in order to make them think more before committing crimes.