Compared to the past, people can now work in places that are far from their homes because of modern means of transportation. How has this affected the lives of workers? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having modern transportation. Support your answer with specific reasons and example.

There are many ways of transportation developed in recent times which has allowed people to work in places that are highly distanced from their homes. Modern transport systems such as tram networks, underground trains, improved road conditions for drivers and frequent bus services have allowed people to travel conveniently to workplaces that are far from home. The advantages of being able to work in places further away include faster career advancement opportunities, more job availabilities and being part of a larger workforce. Such benefits outweigh the small disadvantages that come with travelling such as time and money spent on travelling up and down. Living in urban areas and working in cities comes with huge benefits, for example, employees don't have to pay a higher rent to live in the city centre but still have the availability to work in well-reputable companies located in town. Working for large companies provides job security, better career progression and a wide range of experience that comes from being part of a large workforce. Back in history when efficient travel systems were unavailable, it would have been impossible for people to travel outside of their villages to work, people therefore had to move away to find jobs. Nowadays, employees no longer have to leave their families behind to live alone, they can instead commute to work that is miles away quickly and easily due to the availability of modern transport systems. Many argue that commuting to work that is far away is time consuming and costly, however, I believe this disadvantage is minimal compared to the huge list of advantages. Many companies even cover the expense of travel for employees, what's more, workers can use their time travelling productively. For instance, many trains now have a set-up that is suitable for office work, such as seats with a desk, charging ports and wifi access. Workers can use the time travelling to prepare and complete work tasks which will in turn reduce their workload in the office. To conclude, although it is true that working far away from home uses too much time and money, it does not outweigh the benefits of being able to live with family and saving money by not moving to town. There is also the additional advantage of using the time travelling productively to complete work.