In many countries, there is shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the country side, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country?

The growing population confirms that humanity is thriving, but it also brings new challenges, especially around food and space. This is proven by the housing crisis that exists in the world. The argument of whether the new housing should be set in the countryside is a debatable one, that is both agreed upon and disagreed with by many. The two sides of this will be thoroughly analysed and discussed before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, expanding into the countryside would now mean we can utilize the learnings from our older settlements and move towards making the right as well as better choices, which would mean that we are now more efficiently utilizing the space and are able to service a larger group of people. This has been proven by the architectural choices made in apartment constructions around the city of Chennai, India. Enabling the city to host more people on the rural side within a limited space. This proves that establishing new colonies if done right, could be a very good idea. On the other hand, even though we are able to use the space more effectively, it would still mean that we have to replace existing farmlands that grow crops as well as those that are used to raise cattle. This would mean that we now have affected the overall supply of food, which in turn results in a greater demand for it, eventually raising the prices of our number one commodity and the basis of our survival. For instance, the cost of potatoes in 2004 had a significant bump due to most farmers in Idaho replacing their fields with commercial homestays that yielded more profit. This clearly shows the direct impact the move will have on our society. In summary, while new constructions seems to provide a potential solution to the current problem it is predicted that the adverse effects of replacing country lands which are mostly utilized for farming with housing will always be greater than the positive effects, and because of this, it would be a better idea to take up regeneration of the existing cities over the later option.