Developing the economy will always damage the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that there will always be a detrimental effect on nature due to the progress of the economy. I partially agree with this, for an accelerating speed of excavation of natural resources in spite of the growing awareness of the importance of protecting wildlife. On one hand, the improvement of the economy will impose certain damages on the environment as people drill more oil and gas from the land. In other words, more trees are cut down in the mountains to obtain such valuable resources to produce various items in life. For instance, people vehemently keep excavating the environment to access the precious natural resources, which are the very sources of many products including clothing and furniture, day and night to make more profits in markets. Furthermore, as their shortage has become more severe, more widespread sites are destroyed by drilling machines. This will result in the growing loss of habitats for wild animals and plants, which raises the risk of their extinction. On the other hand, the improvement of economic activities will not necessarily cause harm to the environment because of their rising values among many people today. Indeed, they tend to shift their dependence from natural resources to technology. Practically, more paper is replaced by digital data, which has dramatically reduced the need to destroy the land and trees. Moreover, the amount of waste has declined rapidly, making air and water intact from the pollution. Nevertheless, such paperless movement still facilitates communication and transactions between salespersons and customers without any damage to wildlife. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the development of the economy will always come with the price of the environment as people try to drill more oil and gas to produce more items. However, less damage will be expected in the wild in the future thanks to their altering lifestyle which is more reliant on technology.