In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

It is often argued in a few countries young individuals are motivated to gain experience or travel for a year before starting a university degree. This essay will discuss both pros and cons for young people who plan to do it. To commence with, young people will receive practical knowledge from internship and jobs, which they would like to pursue in their university degree. To explain, a student who works as an intern for a year as electrician will have more detailed practical knowledge before starting the electrical degree at university. For instance, a headline in BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) revealed that a young student who does internships before starting their degree at university, tend to become more successful in their career. As a result, it is proved that working after high school is much more beneficial for the students. Furthermore, student lose interest in their study, when they taste the flavour of money from their job. In other words, young students who work for one year after high school, tend lose interest in studying because they start spending time and money on materialistic things. As an illustration, some studies reveal that young people are easily attracted by the modern materialistic things such as clothes, watches and phones, so if they have money in their pocket they will start spending rather than focusing on their studies. Hence, it is an indisputable fact that students start to lose interest by working one year after high school. To conclude, although, working before starting a university degree has some contribution and should be considered as the criteria to assess yet, I believe that a student must start to work before pursuing a university degree because it enhances the practical skills of the students, which amplifies the overall growth in future.