In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so people think they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of plastic bags. While some people believe that plastic shopping bags can be used in the future, I would argue that plastic bags should be banned to maintain the environment. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that plastic bags can be a source of rubbish and ocean pollution that can increase climate change. This is because plastic bags are not recycled in a few years and also, this can have a lot of garbage in the marine environments. For example, recent news in Japan reported that 60% of marine pollution is caused by single- use bags thrown away into water which affects animals in the sea and increases pollution around the world. As a result, people have to ban to use of plastic bags while they are shopping in supermarkets and grocery stores. It is worth pointing out that governments should have a legal ban on plastic bags. This is based on the fact that governments can influence people to use their own bags or paper bags instead. For instance, in Australia, plastic bags are completely banned in supermarkets and use paper bags instead. Also, shopping centres encourage people to use their own bags that can get a 5% discount when they buy groceries. Consequently, it helps to maintain and protect the environment in their country. In conclusion, we can observe that plastic bags are the main reason for rubbish in landfills and marine pollution. Overall, I firmly believe that plastics should be banned to protect the ecosystem for humans and animals.