Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

In several states, laws that prohibit tobacco smoking in public spaces have been enacted, however, other states still have no initiation to do the same. While some opposing parties deny the idea because it appears to be a limitation of their rights, I side with those who support the policy due to its benefit to increase public health.  On the one hand, opponents of the non-smoking policy claim that this seems to create a meaningful barrier to their freedom of expression. They insist that public spaces should be opened for everyone, and folks can perform any activities that they want to do, including smoking. For instance, the United States has not enacted this regulation due to the ideology of liberalism. Moreover, critics of this law question the effectiveness of the restriction on smoking in buildings to reduce the number of smokers. They tend to find a way to circumvent the regulation, such as by finding outdoor areas or private spaces. On the contrary, the proponents of the smoking ban insist that the regulation can be considered a progressive idea to promote a healthy lifestyle. Firstly, research finds out that passive smokers have the same risks as active smokers or maybe higher risks. These people are intensively exposed to the smoke, especially in cases where the office or restaurant does not have a decent air circulation system. Therefore, they unconsciously breathe polluted air, which negatively affects their lungs and brain. Secondly, with this policy, smokers perhaps reduce their cigarette intake. In some offices, the workers usually smoke while working, and by having this regulation, they appear to be forced to lower their smoking intensity. Thus, they consume fewer cigars, and their health status will gradually increase.  In conclusion, I tend to side with the supporters of smoking restriction. It seems reasonable to enact this in the best interests of society's well-being and smokers ' own health condition.