Topic: some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them

Many people believe that it's an advantage to have like-minded friends whereas some argue that having people with a different opinion adds more benefit to life. Whereas minds that think alike can conclude a discussion swiftly, different point of view on a topic broadens one's horizon of the intellectual realm. This essay supports the argument of having friends with persons who are not easily convinced by a person's thoughts. When we have a circle of friends who have similar reasons to believe in a subject matter, it is often easy and quick to derive a solution as there will be fewer or no arguments at all. For example, two friends with similar political likings will not get into a debate supporting their favorite political figures. However it limits the exploration of alternatives as new ideas are not coined and discussed. On the other hand, when everybody has their thought process on a particular topic, often ideas are brainstormed before drawing a win-win situation for all. For instance, if someone blindly believes Virat Kohli is the best cricketer of the current time, and the other friend counters the claim with some other cricketer then many facts and statistics are reviewed and a final result is obtained based on some ranking criteria. Overall, this article believes that having individuals with different opinions provides better opportunities to explore and fact-check topics than having friends who nod yes to everything one believes. This expands the peripheral knowledge of individuals.