Some people think that criminals should be given longer term imprisonment, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to keep our society safe the length of imprisonment must be increased for the criminals. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with the notion because of the following reasons; people will commit fewer crimes and have to live life in poverty. To commence with, if the government authority implements the policy of long-term imprisonment not only it will stop the crime rate but also boost our economy. To explain it, people will think twice before committing any sort of crime because of long-term imprisonment, instead, they will find jobs or open businesses to support their families which will help the country to boost the economy. For instance, an article published in 9News of Australia revealed that criminals started to look for a job because the government has introduced a new policy of long-term imprisonment. As a result, it is proved that long-term imprisonment will keep our society safe. Furthermore, everyone wants to live a healthy and wealthy lifestyle, if there is a policy of long-term imprisonment it will stop criminals from committing crimes because they have to live the rest of life in poverty. In other words, once anyone stays in prison for a long period of time, they lose the opportunities for work and after they are released from jail no one will hire them because of character issues. For example, there is famous quote '' Once a thief is always a thief'' It means even if someone has stopped stealing, no one in society not even their family member believes that person due to that reason he will be left over and he has to suffer his life in misery. Hence, it is indisputable that long-term imprisonment must be increased to keep our country and society safe. To conclude, to reduce the crime rate and keep the country safe government must instil a policy of long-term imprisonment which will also bring harmony to the people's lives and the country's economy.