Social media networks at school. Advantages and disadvantages

There is no denying that social network is part of our lives. All students in colleges and universities have a smartphone or tablet with access to different media networks. There are different opinions about how technology should be used by students. Negative consequences have been reported when the technology is not used correctly. In contrast, students and schools can benefit from it when it is used to get the best of it. There are those who claim that social media can impact kids’ personalities and self-esteem. Social media can be used to bully school colleagues or to scam students. I agree that these are really concerning issues and that is why schools and universities should include subjects in schools on how to use the technologies responsibly. On the other hand, social media can help our young population to open their networks and enable them to work collaboratively with other schools. There are multiple possibilities and options on the internet such as learning about the latest topics, sharing your achievements or finding information about how to apply for a grant. Currently, in some schools, headteachers have implemented their own network. They use this system to manage the school lessons and homework, but also for social and ludic activities. Students are really enthusiastic about the new ways of teaching as they feel more included. In conclusion, we all understand that social media and the internet may have a negative impact when it is not used appropriately. However, there are multiple positive characteristics of the new technologists that we need to understand and implement, so we can get the best of our students.