Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With the current globalization trend, boundaries between countries are becoming more blurred as people around the world consume the same media. Despite some possible drawbacks of this development, I still think the benefits outweigh the downsides. There are various reasons why this trend is advantageous to the whole society. Firstly, by following news globally, we can learn about social issues happening in other countries and apply the solutions to our own. For example, many Vietnamese, especially teenagers and young adults, were interested in the recent US presidential election. Many people have reported that they have become more engaged in political issues in general. As a result, this year’s election in Vietnam saw a peak in engagement among young adults, with many discussions in online forums. Secondly, more people are watching the same media, like YouTube, which can be an opportunity for us to promote our own culture. For example, more international food bloggers and reviewers are going to Vietnam because they saw videos and TV series broadcasted about Vietnamese food on these global media outlets. As a result, the number of tourists to Vietnam has significantly increased. However, I must admit that there are some disadvantages to this trend. Firstly, limiting one’s media consumption to outlets that feature news from around the world can mean being ignorant about local news. For example, a small piece of local information, like a recent robbery, can get lost amongst various news coming from around the world. As a result, many can become insensitive to changes in the local community. Secondly, one might lose one’s cultural identity if following global media outlets carelessly. With the rising trend of the Korean entertainment industry, many people in Vietnam are adapting to the Korean lifestyle, for example. This overall is still a harmless trend, but in extreme cases, it has led to young adults degrading their own cultural identities and chasing after foreign cultures. In conclusion, I understand that there are some disadvantages to this globalization trend in media consumption. However, I think that the advantages brought by this development far outweigh the disadvantages.