In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In several nations, it is increasingly common for people to experience various health disturbances due to over-consumption of fast food, which led to the governments charging a higher tax on this type of food. This initiative appears to be effective in improving public health; however, it seems to be impractical for individuals who have the capability to purchase it even if the price is high. Tax is one of the financial instruments that is used to control the public. It is relevant since by imposing tax on particular items, the price surely significantly increases, reducing the demand for the items. Therefore, it is logical to charge a fixed amount of tax on fast food to minimise the buyer of those kinds of foods or at least the frequency of individuals consuming them. They tend to find more affordable options, and since the healthier foods are not taxed, they will gradually shift to those alternatives, leading to a more thoughtful lifestyle. For instance, in the United States of America, where the unhealthy tax is applied, the number of diabetic patients has considerably declined. Moreover, the state’s income from tax can benefit society. It is because the governments are able to improve the healthcare system, making it more accessible to every layer of society. Besides that, more health -related subsidies appear to be able to be provided, ranging from subsidies for nutritious food to health insurance subsidies. It might be said that high costs appear to be ineffective in lowering the consumption of junk food because the price of something seems to be not an issue for several people, especially the ones who are wealthy and money does not matter to them. Despite this, it seems that the benefits of this policy outweigh the drawbacks because the government still receive profits, which is beneficial in providing better health facilities. In conclusion, a tax on junk foods is a practical way to improve someone’s well-being because of its rising price and the refinement of health services. Even though some particular people still purchase those foods, they appear to contribute differently.